In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Would 5 years be long enough for those in power to establish anything meaningful? Or is it too long if the people in power bring hell down on those whom they govern?

Let’s look at it in business. In business like a pharmaceutical companies, it takes about 5 years to achieve a goal they created, if not 10 years. If the business strategies introduced and led by the management was successful, there is absolutely no need to change the leadership. The leaders know the people, the products, and the history of the company. The companies led by such excellent leaders provide stability, and should continue to grow building up the culture and its revenue. Therefore changing the leadership without any reasons after 5 years can give a devastating impact to such a company. Same goes for the politics and government. With a strong clairvoyant leadership, there is no war or poverty. Hence the economy and culture flourish. Again, this type of leadership should provide a stability and good auspicious future to a country they govern. In contrast, in Middle Eastern countries, the leadership continues to rise and fall. The turnover of the political leadership creates war, destroys the economy and the culture they had built up in the previous era. For these reasons, I cannot stress enough that leadership should not step down after 5 years of service without a good reason.

How about in schools? The experience you had with your teachers in schools become irreplaceable memories. Whether you liked these teachers or not, it is inevitable that it becomes a part of your personal history. If teachers no longer work at the same school after 5 years, you would feel you are missing a part of your history when you revisit there. There won’t be anyone to remember you or share the experience you had learning there and growing up there. Again, I must disagree to the policy that the people in power should step down after 5 years.

However, when things are not so going well in case of business or politics/government, it is not such a bad idea for those who have the power to step down. Especially in politics, if the same people govern too long, it is prone to corruption. If the leadership is weak and brings the country and its people down to misery, it is perhaps time for them to step down. This is exactly why we have 8 years of limited leadership for the presidents in the United States. It is always very important to reinforce the policy with an option that the government officials are required to step down when they were called for. Perhaps not every 5 years, but as necessary.