The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is a difficult task to determine whether or not an argument is a good one or not. An argument can be considered to be a good one if it uses a lot of sources both for and few against it or as the prompt says its ability to convince people of its merits. I mostly disagree with the best test of an argument being its ability to convince others.

Firstly, people can be adamant supporters of their point of view so much so that they will hold their own position regarless of how good the arguments could be put forth. Many people could be very zealous so much so that logic fails to overcome emotion in their interpritations. Take for example a debate over whether or not police officers should wear body cameras. Someone could say that it costs too much money for the city to buy expensive cameras for thousands of police officers. This is a good argument since the city is under financial pressures. However, if it was tested by trying to convince an emotional mother whose only child was killed in an unjustified shooting and to top it all off, accusing the officer involved of racism, she may very well disregard the good argument due to her overwhelming emotions.

In addition, there could be unfavorable options and arguments selecting one of them can end up convincing others of an even worse position. This means that a bad argument would be incorrectly classified as a good argument. To illustrate, suppose that the city decides to take away funding from either schools or hospitals in order to reduce a budget deficit. One governer says that hospitals should have less funding because hospitals already have doctors that are paid very generously. If another city governer accepts this argument though in reality it would have been better to take unspent funds from schools and not to make hospitals suffer, this context makes this argument a poor one since there is a situation in which the schools and hospitals would have not been hurt. Since a test was used to see by how it convinces others, it would be classified as a good one. Even more so, with the use of a fallacious reasoning. Thus, this is a poor test for an argument.

On the other hand, an argument which is able to convince others can be a good test. People are often conscious of the feasibility of courses of action and how it could be effective. If a debate arises and the person who gets all of its members on board that argument is a good one. For instance, a neighborhood debating how to deal with a noisy street can reach a deal on how to recitify the problem if one of them gets all others to agree on the same plan. When they all agree to petition to the city and not one of them disagrees, they can get enough signatures to help change how strictly a curfew is enacted at a certain time. Thus, the ability of an argument to convince people can make it a good one since it makes a rectifying action happen.

All in all this is a compelx issue in which no one extreme can be taken.