Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is said that everyone is good at something. It could be sports, academics, or even cooking. Even if it seems that a person does not have a talent, they just could have not been born in the correct time period for it to be recognized. To illustrate, a child born in 2005 would be good at horse riding, but since he lives in the city and where horses are not really seen, it would be difficult to discover his or her talent. Nevertheless, it has been said that children who have talents should be trained in order to develop those talents. I mostly disagree with this statement for two reasons and agree with it for one reason.

Firstly, children’s talents could be beneficial to society at large and therefore should be developed in order to maximize that benefit. Talent that is not trained is wasted talent indeed. This is perciscly the reason why training and exhaustive practice is needed in order to maximize gain from a talent. Then, society can benefit. For one, a talented child who is good in art could practice painting in an art centered school and continue to study art in a university to expand his knowledge. Then, he could use his talents in order to enlighten society with his art and even revitalize its culture. In addition, a very intelligent girl who has say a 180 IQ should be trained in her ability by sending her to a special school where she is better able to optimize her talents as a super genius in order to use her intelligence to being society new scientific discoveries such as the mysteries of the physical explanations of the universe which was partially enlightened by other geniuses such as Einstien and Hawking. Both of these young prodigies need to practice as much as possible and as soon as possible in order to maximize their potential and thus benefit to others.

On the other hand, the talents of children may bring negligible benefit to society. Talents include both useful and not useful activities. Activities that are not useful to society should not be invested in by society. For example, a child who is good at magic tricks should not be developed since so many resources could be invested in just one specific entertainer which would not bring about much compelling change in society other than entertainment. Also, a child who is good a video games should not have his talents developed. Video games take a lot of skill and practice in order to be good at, however video games are seen as mostly a dilatory action rather than a useful talent. All in all, if a child is a good magician or a good video gamer, though it can impress a lot of people with the amount of skill that they have, should not be taken so seriously as because there is no real benefit to be gained from developing these kinds of talents. Resources could be devoted to things such as those who have even more useful talents as described above.

In addition, children should have some rights as to what they want to do with their time. Although a child could be the next Steve Jobs or Bill Gates, he or she should still have the right to do what he or she wants in their lives. If a child is a technological prodigy and wants to instead sell sodas, that child should be able to do so and not be infringed upon by the pressures of society telling them and forcing them what to do. It really boils down to basic rights and freedoms. Conversly, if a child agrees that technology is their passion and that they want to show the world their skill, then they could allow society to help them also if they desire help and are ok with having help along the way. Society could insist on helping and reminding from time to time that there is help available, but if the child doesn’t want help, then they should not be forced with help.

In conclusion, this is a complex issue in which no one extreme stance should be taken. There are instances where socity should and should not help develop talents of young children.