Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Higher education has been around for centuries and it takes a lot of human and cost-intensive resources in order to educate one individual. It has even been said that some PhD students can cost up to a million dollars to educate. Some people say that paying education tuition is justified, especially if graduates enter lucrative careers. However, the prompt says that it is the government’s responsibility to make sure that everyone can get a college education and if students can’t afford it, then the government must pay for their tuition. I agree with this prompt for one reason and disagree with it for two reasons.

First, this proposal is actually a waste of resources. To prove this point, it is actually a fact that the majority of high school seniors do not finish school in two or four years. University tuition costs tens of thousands of dollars and even those in the middle class among those drop outs would not be able to afford such expensive tuition. This means that the governments will be spending billions a year funding students’ time at university as if it were an adult daycare center where the students will end up getting the same low-skill job anyway which requires only a high school diploma. Granted, there are some jobs students can get if they fall under the “some college” category, but since most drop out of their first and second years where the skills students learn are only basic, their job prospects rarely get better.

In addition, there is potentially an exploit that universities may take advantage of. To illustrate, a private school with very high tuition can accept the vast majority of applications that it receives despite uncompetitive or no provided SAT/ACT scores and low GPAs in order to get the tuition payments from the government. With these ulterior motives in mind, these kinds of univeristies will not provide a quality education. Even if the students graduate with low prospects of graduating, the university has managed to defraud the government of thousands and the students by making them give up time for their supposed education. Albeit some students may graduate, even fewer students will find employment due to the university’s low reputation and education quality. All in all, this means that the government should not be using taxpayer money that will end up in the coffers of white-collar criminals.

On the other hand, it may be well worth helping students out of poverty and eliminating social reproduction. For instance, students in impoverished areas such as Strawberry Mansion high school in Philadelphia breed generations of those who are also in poverty (an example of social reproduction in sociology). These students are typically so mired in poverty that they could not even afford a couple hundred dollar deposit fee, let alone the tuition, though they were admitted. If the government was to step in and assist the student in paying for their education, then not only will that student save themselves from poverty by getting a job, but subsequesnt generations of the student will be able to live better because of the government. Thus, social reproduction has been elimiantated.

In conclusion, there are a few reasons why the government should not be spending money on giving free college education for students. Although, it is not to say that it isn’t useful in bringing students out of poverty and reducing social reproduction.