Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this statement argues that since there has global warming concerns affecting migration patterns, it is a cause for the decline in the Arctic deer population in Canada. Just because two phenomena cooccur, it does not mean that one caused the other. This means that evidence is required to evaluate this claim.

First, it is important to see if many of the Arctic deer decided to migrate to another area. The Arctic deer may realize that they have another route across the water to get to their food supply and may have settled there since there may also be a more steady supply of food there. If this proves true, the author’s statement is strengthened since the migration pattern is changed by not including a body of water being crossed. Also, though global warming is affecting the amount of ice that forms in general, is it enough to prevent the deer from crossing island to island? If global warming is not having an appreciable effect on ice formation, then the author’s statement is weakened since the migration patter would not be altered.

In addition, more information about the Artic deers’ diet should be known in order to accept the author’s argument. It may be the case that the deer may have run out of food since there was more competition for food during a malthuasian event that occurred when the deer population was too high and the food supply was too low. Thus, since the food availability was too low for the deer, they would not have been able to feed themselves and would die as a result of starvation. If this were discovered to be true, the author’s claim that global warming coinciding with the decrease in population. On the other hand, the Arctic deers may have run out of food on most islands because their plants that they rely on were really sensitive to climate change to the point of death. Since global warming has altered the migration patterns due to no food left to migrate to, the author would be correct in his or her assertion that climate change has cause a decline in the deer population.

Lastly, the author’s source of deer population changes were from hunting reports, there is a lot of suspect in his claims. It makes sense for hunters to monitor populations of the animals preyed upon otherwise those animals will go extinct. It is possible that human settlements have caused the decrease in the deer population since humans are omnivores that would eat deer meat. It is possible that their relentless hunting has caused the decreased population and not climate change. Furthermore, human settlements may also be getting larger, chasing the deers out since humans need more room or chase the deer out themselves in order to prevent the deer from damaging their crops. If this were true, then the author’s statement will be weaker since global warming has not affected the migration patterns of the deer.

All in all, the author’s argument which is “X” happened at the same time “Y” occurred, therefore X caused Y requires a lot of information to corroborate it. His or her claims may be true, however given the lack information that is presented, this claim cannot be taken to be true right away.