Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Culture such as music and art are commonly founded in cities and it was said that governments have a responsibility to fund their cities in order to maintain the city’s continued cultural growth and to preserve it. Money is also something that could help maintain the continuation and development of culture. I mostly agree with this claim and reason for two reasons of my own and disagree with them for one reason.

Firstly, increased government funding for cities could allow the city mayor to build an art museum which helps preserve works of art while also keeping them secure. To illustrate, a museum can keep gentle works of art hundreds of years old in thick glass casing from falling to dust and prevent art theives from taking it and selling it offshores through the blackmarket. Thus, if governments fund major cities to build these museums, major cultural assests such as art can be accumulated over time and safely preserved.

In addition, the government can fund public schools for art and music classes. For example, public schools can be given funds for art and music teachers to teach students about culture and cultural persuits. This means that these classes can shape young minds into both creators and preservers of culture. This is because many students at one time are taught culture to remember it and pass it down to the subsequent generations of students and will also use their education in art or music create new genres and new subjects for art.

Lastly, though the government may think that they will help support culture, the funds allotted to the cities may actually go somewhere else. The city mayor may just give himself and his closest aids a raise or the city could fund other things such as infrastructure. In any event, there are so many other things on the city’s agenda which does not revolve around art or its preservation. The city and the government of the nation are likely to have conflicting notions on how funding should be spent in a major city.

In conclusion, major cities can be representative of a nation’s best culture and funding could be a good way in order to preserve and to generate new culture. However, it may not be the best way since the cities may not be in agreement same terms as the government is in regards to how funding should be spent.