The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A measure about what makes society a great one comes in many different forms so much that different nations can be ranked first or last. It could be that the United States could be the best because of how democratic it is or it could be among the worst because of how expensive health care is. It has been said that the general welfare of the people is the best measure of how good society is and not the acheivements it has made. I agree with this position for three reasons.

Firstly, science has advanced in the last 400 years than all of human history. It is important to ask has science gone too far? Granted, we have modern medicine which has increased the lifespan of the average individual to 80 years of age. However, what good are inventions such as the combustion engine which has spiked oil demand so high that it caused armed conflict that has hurt several countries around the world? What good is it if it causes a society so dependent on cars that it risks getting flooded in the next 100 years? The most advanced civilization today can have the most cars, but it would not matter if their precious town is flooded. As a matter of fact, this society which is like those in New York or in the Netherlands would have been better off with the brick and mortor of the horse carriage.

In addition, art should not be indicative of a great nation. Many societies that have art as a great acheivemnt earned their status because the state supports it. Since monetary resources are never unlimited, there is almost always a group that suffers from a lack of funding. For one, it could be that homeless shelters are shut down and basic needs such as social welfare are revoked. In either event, people will suffer from a lack of basic necessities and hence their welfare is affected. Art is more of a luxury item that the government can give its people. So, what is a brigh red sports car worth when you sell your house for it? Well, not much since you sold a basic necessity for something many people would find to be superfluous. Thus, it is better to rate a country by how well it takes care of its people rather than by how much it contributes to the art world.

Finally, leaders of a nation may pass legislation that does not improve the welfare of society. For example, leaders could pass legislation legalizing the use of recreational drugs and could be crowned one of the first leaders to do so. Though they could gain publicity and be lionized all over the world for such a bold initiative, they can destroy the well-being of everyone with addictive and life-ruining substances. For instance, Colorado has legalized the use of recreational cannabis and has caused a surge in teens abusing the substance and the drug being transported across state lines. Teens will forever alter their brains and cognition both instate and out of state, as well as subsequent generations. Therefore, it is not worth all of the publicity if many people suffer due to legislation.

In conclusion, a society should not be based off of its acheivemnts, but by how well its people live. There is often not much to gain, rather much sacrificed, specifically well-being.