People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Humans have evolved over millions of years to become intelligent beings capable of using their wits to get their way. They have also evolved the ability to feel emotions and make decisions, however the prompt has said that there are factors at play that are not of our own making. I agree with this statement for two reasons and disagree with it for one reason.

Firstly, people’s behavior may not be of their own making because of how they are raised. To illustrate, take a child who has been born in an impoverished home with 4 other siblings in a North Philadelphia home to a single parent who execrates at her own children and has a drinking problem. The children end up having an acerbic tone of voice and their own drinking problem when they grow up after observing their own mother doing so. This means that the children learned this behavior from their mother and not through their own conscious decision-making.

In addition, many people modify their behavior to cover up their truculent nature. Many people are naturally rebellious and are really miscreants in disguise. This is best shown in William Goldberg’s compelling classic novel “Lord of The Flies” in that a hand full of traveling survivors on an island unleash their savage nature by killing one rather calm and unruffled friend named “Piggy”. Since this is so, the savage nature of these lost travelers getting unleashed only days after leaving their more civilized town shows how people’s civilized behavior in the civilized land is only a cover up for their true uncivilized and even mulcult behavior.

On the other hand, people can learn from their mistake and modify their behavior without the help of outside forces. For example, when a public speaker appears nervous and anxious in front of large audiences due to unforeseen forces that triggers his or her phobia of it, he or she can decide to modify their behavior in several ways. One way can be a Harvard graduate’s famous communications advice called “fake it ‘till you make it” where calm behavior is reinforced after several trials of trying to appear calm during presentations or by using behavioral reinforcement coined by B.F. Skinner where behavior will be changed to appear more calm by adding or removing stimuli to the speaker. All in all, there are several ways where a person can modify their behavior in their own making though their original behavior may be due to external forces whatever they may be.

In conclusion, people’s behavior can be due to many kinds of external forces such as learning it from their parents and not themselves or covering up their savage nature by a more civilized guise. However, people can modify their behavior after it is determined by these kinds of forces by their own making in numerous ways.