The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner of the Sunnyside Towers says that it can dramatically increase its profits by manipulating the showerheads of its customers to reduce water usage to 1/3. The owner assumes that reducing water usage in 3 of the buildings, though no report of water usage was made available, will increase savings. Based on this assumption, the author assumes that even more saving would be made by replacing the showerheads of all 12 other apartment buildings. However, before this argument is taken for granted and action is taken, several questions need to be answered.

First, it is important if the changes made to peoples’ apartments can be countered by some other change. It is important to ask if people who have had their showerheads replaced will replace them with heads that use the same amount or more water as the old head. Also, it is possible that even if those heads are not repalacable, that people can just take longer showers in order to compensate for the lesser amount of water flowing. In either case, the company can be wasting even more money by paying for more water usage and also wasted money by buying new showerheads. The author seems to take for granted the logic behind reducing water usage equals less money spent and more money saved without even checking for a report to see if water usage has actually decreased, however he or she fails to consider alternatives that could counter the proposed changes.

In addition, the author does not consider alternative ways water could be used. It is true that reducing water usage in the showers can increase profits, however there is a myriad of other ways water bills can run high. For example, do some residants have leaky toilets which waste water all day and night? Since they would leak so assidioulsy, even leaking a few milileters a second could run up the water bill high at the end of the month. This would make changing the showerheads an inefficient way to reduce water usage and fixing leaky toilets a better alternative. Futhermore, has an underground water pipe has bursted causing water to leak out into the ground which would waste gallons of water a month? This is something that could explain the complaints of low water pressure that some residents complain about and how the company could save profits. Thus, it is important to do some diagnostics and inspections to see if water is wasted in other ways and address those damages. Again, the author should take into consideration water readings to see trends in water usage that could indicate more wasted water.

Finally, the author assumes that applying this change in all other buildings will cause even more savings. Though this is a logical assertion, the author again must ask if changes in the few buildings would be as effective as doing so in all other ones. It is possible that people in other buildings take more baths instead which means that replacing the showerheads would do nothing but waste even more money for the owners and do nothing to reduce those residents’ water usage. Also, it is possible that people in those other buildings take very brief showers which will mean that there will be no significant increase in profits that the owner hopes for.

In conclusion, there are many different factors that the author of this proposal has not considered and therefore there are many different questions which must be answered before any expensive and time consuming action is taken.