The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex wrote a letter to his manager proposing the modification of showerheads of all twelve buildings in the complex in order to help Sunnyside Corporation to increase its profits. The recommendation is made because the previous modification of showerheads in the first three building has restricted the water flow to one-third of its original volume. Hence, he believed that such modification will enable the company to save a substantial cost. The recommendation seems persuasive at a first glance, but specific questions need to be answered in order t...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.