The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the ten-year budget plan, the committee recommended that the budget allocated for education in Calatrava during the next decade can be safely reduced as they had foreseen the declination in the number of students and expected an increment in the adult populations. We need to glean more evidences about this recommendation in order to evaluate this argument objectively.

To begin with, we need evidence about the correlation between the birthrate and the number of students that will be enrolled into Calatrava’s public school in future. Despite the declination of birthrate in Calatrava, it is not reasonable to predict that the future enrolment in the public school will encounter a shortfall. Indeed, the birthrate of Calatrava in last year is only half of five years ago, but this data does not provide any constructive information that will be useful to make prediction on the future enrolment. In fact, various reasons can lead to the difference in the number of prospective students. For instance, enrolment may increase in future if there are many students immigrate from other cities to Calatrava. Perhaps many students may transfer to public school from private school in future, which may also result in the rise of enrolment in public school. Hence, the accuracy of using birthrate as sole indicator to determine the future enrolment in Calatrava would not be the best measure to propose the abovementioned recommendation.

On top of reducing education funds, the committee has also proposed a reduction in funding for athletic ground and other recreational facilities. There are two evidences we need to evaluate these propositions. First is the quality of education in Calatrava. Reduction of education funds means less resources are allocated to public school, particular the monetary support from the council. This indicates that there may be a cut in educators’ wages and school facilities. If this happen, the educators may discontent with their wages level and probably seek for job opportunities in other cities or private school. Students are also less likely to acess to high quality curriculum activities and library. Consequently, the quality of education will drop and affect the overall students’ quality. The second evidence is whether or not the adults in Calatrava are using the athletic facilities. The committee assumes that majority of the adults in Calatrava are involving in other facilities and programs in the city. However, it is possible that the adults are sharing the athletic facilities with the students too. In addition, the extra funds from the cut in athletic facilities may not be sufficient to upgrade the current facilities and programs in the city. Without these evidences, reducing funds on athletic and recreational facilities will results in the drop of the quality of life among Calatrava’s residents.

Finally, the last piece of evidence regards to the adults’ population of Calatrava in future. The committee proposed the funding of city facilities and programs because they have anticipated a rise in the adults population. However, the committee may probably overlook some factors that could affect the adults population. One of the factors is the emigration of Calatrava’s adults. It is possible that the residents in Calatrava emigrate to other cities and subsequently results in declination of the population. Moreover, the decrease in Calatrava’s birthrate could also serve as an indicator to the declination in the future population. Thus, the committee need to take these evidences into consideration before proposing such recommendation.

Overall speaking, the committee needs to present more evidences to support the recommendations made in the argument Without these evidences, the argument is simply unconvincing and sceptical in which whether these recommendations are really beneficial to both the students and residents in Calatrava.