The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo, the director of student housing proposes that Buckingham College should add a number of new dormitories due to the anticipated enrollment that will be twofold in the next 50 years. In addition to that, the director also states that the students hardly afford off-campus housing due to the rise of average rental of the apartments in the town. He further adds that Buckingham College would attract prospective students to enroll with the attractive new dormitories. The recommendation seems persuasive at the first glance, but specific evidences need to be presented in order to evaluate the soundness of this recommendation.

First, the director needs to present the evidence of the number of students that are currently living on-campus. The director assumes that with the current growth trends of the enrollment rate in Buckingham College, more dormitories are needed to fulfill the influx of students in future. However, the director does not provide any data regarding the number of on-campus living students. It is important to know whether or not the dormitories have all been fully occupied. Perhaps there are still plenty of dormitories in Buckingham College left unoccupied and it is profligate to add new dormitories without an actual demand. The director also needs to provide evidence of the previous enrollment rate of every course. The projection of twofold the number of students in the next 50 years is quixotic because the anticipation term is too long. A more appropriate projection will be the next 5 years. The director should take into account that each course has different enrollment rate. Perhaps the course that is currently popular would not be popular in future, and lead to a declination of the future enrollment rate. Thus, a the enrollment rate of every course should be meticulously evaluated to better predict the future enrollment rate of the college.

On the other hand, the director also states that the average rent in the town has risen in recent years and cause the students unable to afford off-campus living. However, without the data of local and international students, this argument does not provide any useful insights for the recommendation. Perhaps most of the students in Buckingham College are local students, they live with their family instead of renting a dorm outside. Thus, the increase of the apartment rental in the town does not affect majority of the students in the college. Apart from that, the rise of average apartment rental in the town may not be a useful insight as it may include apartments that may be far away from campus and therefore not available to Buckingham students. It would be more useful to look at the average rental of the off-campus housing that Buckingham students usually choose to live in and see if the rental will become increasingly expensive in the future. In addition, the director should also consider the rental of dormitories and off-housing campus in future. If the rental of dormitories far exceeds the off-housing campus, it is futile to build new dormitories as student will eventually choose to live outside the campus.

Finally, the director must provide evidence regarding the reasons students enroll in Buckingham College. The assumption of prospective students will choose to enroll in Buckingham due to attractive new dormitories is ungrounded. There are various reasons for students to enroll in Buckingham such as the quality of education, the learning environment and the reputation of college. If the survey proves that students will not enroll in Buckingham even if attractive and new dormitories are built, the argument will be substantially weakened. On the other hand, evidence regarding the college has sufficient budget to support the establishment of new dormitories must also be presented. It is important to know whether building new dormitories will burden the college’s budget and subsequently compromise the quality of education or increase the tuition fees impose on students. If this case happen, it will probably decrease the enrollment rate in future.

In brief, more evidences are needed to evaluate the soundness of the argument before adopting the argument made by the director. Without the evidences regarding the data of the number of students living on-campus, current and future apartment rental and prospective students’ attitude for enrolling in Buckingham, the recommendation shall not be made as it is imprudent to take action without conducting meticulous research.