The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Board of Directors recommend the establishment of café in Monarch Books in order to attract more customers and better compete with its rival – Regal Books. The recommendation was made on the basis of Monarch Books being offering wide selection of books and able to attract more customers as it has a huge customer base. The directors are confident as they think opening a café will enable them to compete with Regal Books that has opened a café recently. Before adopting the directors’ recommendation, several questions need to be asked in order to effectively evaluate the argument.

The first question regards to the correlation between the size of the book selection and the size of customer base in Monarch Books. How do the directors ensure Monarch Books has large customer base even though it offers wide range of book selection? The assumption is fallacious because it was made based on the timeline of operation of Monarch Books and the range of the books it offers. It is possible that throughout the years Monarch Books is doing business with the same customers as Monarch Books is conducting its business at the same location for over twenty years. Hence, the directors need to answer this question by providing a more trustworthy source of information such as customer data that proves the actual amount of customers Monarch Books has.

On the other hand, the directors recommend Monarch Books to release some space for café by seizing the children’s book section. The recommendation was made because the recent national census showed a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten and the directors infer that children’s book will less likely to become popular in future. There arise some questions regarding this report. First, when is the national census being conducted? Second, does the report indicated the number of children under age ten? The word “recent” appeared for the national census is rather equivocal. It does not state which year the national census was conducted and hence is not a reliable source. In addition, the report from the national census only demonstrated the percentage of the population under age ten, whereas percentage is not equal to the number of people. There are many possible reasons that may cause a dropped in the percentage of children under age ten: the increase of population in age groups above ten and the decrease of population in any age group under ten. Factors such as migration, disease, mortality rate will affect the variation of the population of all age groups. Besides, the declination of percentage of population under age ten does not necessarily mean the percentage will continue to drop in future. The change in government policy, advent of newer technology and quality of life in the city will influence the birthrate and possibly increase the child population in future. Apart from that, the directors also correlate the popularity of children books with children, where in fact children books can be read by teenagers and adults too.

The directors go on to assume that Monarch Books can attract more customer with the establishment of café in its store. However, they neglected other possible factors that has actually affect a bookstore’s business. There are various reasons that influence customers’ preferences over a bookstore, such as the price of the books, the ambience and the location of the store. On top of that, the directors thought opening a café in Monarch Books allows it to compete with Regal Books. But do the directors know the traffic and revenue generated in the café of Regal Books? It is possible that the café in Regal Books has low traffic volume and is currently incurring lost. As mention, Regal Books is operating well due to other possible reasons such as price, ambience, location and perhaps customer loyalty. Therefore, it is imprudent to hastily open a café in Monarch Books without conducting a rigorous study on its competitor’s.

In conclusion, the directors need to strengthen their arguments by providing reasonable explanations towards these questions in order to invigorate their recommendation about opening a café in Monarch Books.