Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Many people believe that the success of great people like Steve Jobs, Albert Einstein and Bill Gates are devoted to their innate talent. Despite Thomas Edison’s brilliant quote: “success comes from 1% of talent and 99% of perspiration”, it is conspicuous that successful person often possessed certain kind of talent in a particular field that is superior than others. Hence, the society underscores the importance of identifying gifted children and provide essential training at their young age so they could become the next great person in future. While I agree that talented children need to be identified and trained when they are young, this recommendation should be adopted depends on the type of talent they possess.

The first type of talent relates to the mathematics and natural science field. Children that are talented in this field should be promoted to higher level institution and more rigorous and advance training should be provided. These children are usually possessing knowledge that are beyond their current learning level. The school curriculum is unable to provide them teaching that could be matched with their level of understanding. For example, Terence Tao had already exhibited an extraordinary mathematical abilities when he was only at the age of 9 and hence was promoted to university-level mathematical course to obtain more knowledge that could fit his ability. Providing a rigorous and advance training to these children are important because they can access to higher level learning materials and experimental equipment. With these resources, they can better develop their talent and eventually be a pundit in that particular field.

On the other hand, children with sports and arts talents should also be identified and given training that could help them to discover and improve their talents. At young age, many children has already exposed to many sports and performance at their school. Through these activities children with relevant talents can be easily discovered by evaluating their performance in a particular sport or performance. Training should be given to these children in order to become the best athlete or actor because the lifespan of their career in this field are shorter. The journey of an athlete usually begin at a very young age because young athlete has better physical condition. In addition, most of the athlete retire at the age of 35 during the golden age of the others. For instance, the world fastest sprinter – Usain Bolt began his professional athlete career at the age of 18 and retired in 2017 at the age of 31.

Despite the two special fields of talents that need to receive training at the early age, children who are gifted with linguistic ability does not need to go through any specific training. This is due to the nature of linguistic which require neither the access to particular materials nor the need to begin at the very young age to success in future. In fact, almost everyone can be a talented linguists because to master a language it requires diligent more than talent. There are many countries that practice bilingual or trilingual, which proves that particular training is unnecessary to become a professional linguist. The only thing linguist needs is practice. Through continuous practice in reading, writing and communicating with others, almost everyone can become familiar with a new language.

To sum up, it is not necessary to provide training to every children with identified talents. Training should be provided based on the talent they possess in different segmentation of talent fields such as mathematics, natural science, sports, arts and language. While training is required to better develop children with talent in science and sports field, talented children in language field is not necessary. Although it is important to discover a specific talent in children, it should not regard it as the only factor to determine their success. After all, everyone can achieve his own success with diligence, just like what Thomas Edison quoted.