1.The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager."One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to o

According to the owner of the Sunnyside towers apartment, he seemed to make a success that modified watershed in the apartment will save water. Hence he predicts that it will also be successful in the other eleven buildings. The author concludes this change will increase the profits of the company. While the assumption is problematic and we should evalutate the arguments carefully.

To begin with,the conclusion that there are few complaints and problems with this change is not convincing. Because the few complaints cannot represent all the residents' opinions about this modification. While I think almost everyone living in this aparment could notice this changing while there is also a high possiblity that they are silent majority. In the end, the number of the residents left will explain this changing's effect. Because I believe some of the people will find a better place with comfortable bathroom and kitchen. The author should take care of this modification which may cause the lost of residents in this aprtment.What's more, given this change has implemented just for a month, the latent complaint may arise subsequently in my opinion, it is too early to make this consluion of success by the onwer.

Another reason, without exhautive survey ,the author suggests to implement his measure to the other eleven apartments. This will be a dangerous suggestion while we do not know what kinds of the other residents are, who living in the other eleven buidings. Maybe they are very upset even angry with this change which may save water. While they could also choose to leave by this tricky modification. Water is used almost everywhere in our daily life, while in this kind of restriction, the effect of changing watersheds into small ones could be unpredicable. Maybe some of the people feel like this kind of method which could save money while the others maybe not.

Finally, the author refers to the possiblity of increasing profits is very high. As there are many factors relative to the increasing of profits of a company, we can not conclude this single mearsure will increase the profits. Because this modification has not been tested by the residents as we discuss previously. And I strongly predict some of the residents will leave by this seemingly little change which may destroy the figure of the company in their mind. Thus the income of the whole company will decline with the lost of residents. I would be more serious if this measure is implmented in the other eleven buildings of the company which may cause lost dramatically.

In conclusion, I fully comprehend the owner's endeavor to make more profit to the company while it is more wise to make more efforts on the service for the residents rather than saving money from them.