1. The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In this letter, the owner of the apartment complex suggest that it’s more profitable to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. At first glance, the inference seems reasonable, but it appears many potential omitted flaws after carefully analyzing.

To begin with, it mentioned that there are only a few complaints about low pressure within the first month of change. However, it’s likely that a little portion of people may complain immediately because of temporary change. How does he know the evaluation of the restriction for a long period? It’s possible that the apartment complex will lose some renters owing to the low quality.

On the other hand, it’s unknown about the expense of modification according to the article. It’s likely that they need to hire the high-skilled plumber and technical workers, and it’s required to double check everything beforehand, costing a large amount of money and personnel costs. What’s more, it’s inconvenient for renters to use the showerheads during the construction, then it’s responsible for the apartment to come up with the alternative packages. At that time, we’re not sure whether the total cost will outweigh the predicted marginal profit.

Last but not least, how percentage of water cost account for the total operating cost in the building? It’s possible that it actually saves a little amount of money after implementing the whole plan among all 12 buildings. Nevertheless, it’s also risk having deficit on the whole owing to unsatisfactory of renters. Another question is how the owner audaciously predicts the profit will increase dramatically in the future? It exists so many variables that make profound impact on one’s profit, such as economic, demography, and so on. Hence, it’s too optimistic to jump to this conclusion.

To sum up, it still needs more concrete data and cautious consideration before deciding to restrict the water flow in 12 buildings.