The following appeared in an editorial in a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of an editorial recommended that adding a bicycle lane would better solve the traffic jam than widening the highway. However, the evidence he supposed need more careful consideration before adopting a new policy.

To begin with, opponents of widening the highway use the inefficiency of Green Highway to express the solution may not be successful. However, did they really make a survey and calculate how many people would pass the highway during the rush hour? Were there any other factors operative? It’s likely that the two side of area connected by Green Highway are higher-density than that of Blue Highway. Hence, widening the lane might not be the best way for them. However, their failure isn’t highly correlated to Blue Highway since there are so many variables such as the length of rush hour, the total amount of cars driving on the highway, and so on. Opponents should analyze the pros and cons of widening the lane at least according to these data.

On the other hand, opponents suggested that adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway is a good way to the congestion for many area residents are keen bicyclists. What’s the definition of many? Did they make an authorized poll? It’s possible that they indeed made a survey but the interviewees were all in their association, contravening the random sample rule. Even though residents like to ride a bike, it doesn’t mean they’re willing to choose it as a transportation during a commute time. It’s likely that they ride a bicycle as a hobby or an exercise. In addition, there are also other feasible and common policies being enforced like the minimum of passengers. When the rush hour comes, the government can regulate once a car has above three passengers, then the car is able to use a special lane.

To sum up, it still leaves many flaws in the proposition, and it had better dig deeply into the core of the problem. In this way, the solution will be more efficient and practicable.