In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this passage, Prunty County is deciding to imitate the policy Bulter County since there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Bulter County this past year than there were five years ago.

To begin with, we have no way to know that how are the widths of lane and visibility at dangerous intersections before starting to spend money rebuilding them. If there is no problem existing at this aspect, then it’s quite a great loss to tax citizens paid. Next, it’s likely that drivers in Prunty County didn’t receive the complete education about traffics before getting the license. It’s also likely that the government didn’t force those who violated traffic laws to take the certain course to prevent them making the same mistake again. What’s more, they can take serious measures, such as raise the penalty.

On the other hand, implementing Bulter County’s policy is only supported by the data that there were lower percentage reported accidents this past year than there were five years ago. Nevertheless, it used the word “reported”, which weakens the credibility of the report. It’s possible that drivers who bumping others may compensate injured for money ensure they won’t go to the police. When dealt with in private, then those accidents might not be counted as reported accidents. In addition, it’s not strong enough to bolster that the policy is efficient, because the reported accidents contain many kinds. For example, citizens riding bike or motorcycle carelessly hurt the pedestrians is also a kind of accident. Still, we cannot know whether these cases are put into the category in this survey. Hence, it still needs more evidence to evaluate the efficacy of the policy.

To sum up, we should know further and need more concrete evidence to decide whether Prunty County needs to change the original infrastructures they have.