The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A price president suggests that Quiot Manufacturing shortening a shift by one hour because it had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than Panoply Industries plant, whose employees work less than it one hour. It seems reasonable at first glance, however there are many flaws in the inference after carefully analyzing it.

To begin with, the vice president assumes the working list for two companies’ employees are identical. Nevertheless, we cannot know what the definition of on-the-job accident is. Does it contain minor injury, such as nail splitting? It’s likely that Quiot define accident as all the hurt, then it’s likely that the rate of accident is much higher than Panoply. In addition, the work involves different dangerous degree of items, but we’re not sure what they actually do in their routine working list.

On the other hand, a vice president proposes that the company should shorten each of its shift hours by one hour according to experts’ conclusion. He assumes that workers’ background is similar, like the distance between working place and home, and the distribution of age. For example, older employees usually need to take care of her own family after a day of work and have to spend much time on commuting if she lives far away from factory. Still, it’s possible that most of the employees working at Quiot live near the company. In this case, even though shortening the shift may not be conducive to the rate of accident.

Last but not least, a vice president supposes that inadequate amounts of sleep is the most significant to the efficiency. However, what’s the background of experts, and what kind of data did they collect before making this conclusion? What’s more, there’s no data supporting that working less an hour is beneficial productivity. It’s likely that a worker may not spend extra hour sleeping instead of exercising or doing any leisure activities. In this case, the expected high working efficiency won’t occur.

To sum up, whether shortening a shift by one hour is a good way for Quiot to lower the rate of on-the-job accident still needs more complete consideration.