80. The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the advertising director suggests that company should allocate a greater share of its advertising budget next year to reaching the public. However, it leave some questions before jumping to the conclusion.

The director uses the data from a recent report, indicating that the positive review by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Nevertheless, its population only covers people who is willing to buy a ticket. What percentage of people outside of the movie theater are the potential consumers, interested in bigger screen? Indeed, it's likely that some people really don't know the information about the big screen. But it's also likely that they're indifferent to the size of the movie screen. Hence, even though the advertising is successful after the company allocates the budget, the attendance may still be the same since they don't put the size of the screen into their priority when choosing a movie theater.

Secondly, he points out that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies under the increasing percentage of positive reviews. The question pops up, how many other movie production companies in each year? It's likely that there are more and more directors trying to film a movie, and the theme is attractive to many people. Even though the number of production companies doesn't change a lot, it's also likely that their filming skill or their actress is better than Super Screen company.

Lastly, the report shows that only some specific percentage of positive movies actually increased during the past year. However, it's possible that the increase range is smaller compared with some movie which the positive reviews decline dramatically. For example, the increase is only 3%, but the positive percentage declines 20% in other movies. How can he using a part of the good comments to say the quality of all movies produced by Super Screen remains good? It's also possible that some people who don't get expected value in buying the ticket for Super Screen may not be willing to choose the movie produced by it next time when they want to watch a movie.

There are lots of questions still needed to be answered before recommending the company to allocate more budget to the advertising. It has to check its own quality and the difference between it and other competitors.