According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this recent report, it indicates that the honor code is useful for lessening the cases of cheating and suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes rather than traditional monitor.

According to the report, it points out that the number of cases of the first year and fifth year is lower than average. Why does it only provide two years of data? Is it possible that the report’s author choose to list the lower number favor to the result? It’s likely that the cheating cases in the second, third, and fourth year are higher than the average, such as 50 or even more. Thus, it’ll be more convincing given the total data supporting the efficiency of an honor code.

On the other hand, even though other 3 years of number are also below the average, students usually have no time watching what others are doing during the difficult examination. Yet they indeed discover or notice that their classmates furtively cheat during the test. What percentage of students would really use an honor code to reveal the wrong behavior? Once she rap, it’s risky that she may encounter isolation, making profound impact on the relationship between peers. To lots of students, the friendship is definitely outweigh the candid. It had better provide students some incentives to report the cases such as adding the score or ensuring the anonymity.

It also says that students would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. How did the designers of recent survey ask the question before getting the conclusion? Some questions only contain responses like yes or no, and the students must reply that they wouldn’t cheat under the existence of honor code. At the end of the article, the author recommends that all colleges and universities adopting an honor code for it’s successful in one school. Which country of students is the recent survey aimed to? It’s common that students in Asia often encounter more pressure on academics. Hence, they tend to get higher score so as not to be reprimanded by their parents and have an opportunity to get admitted to the prestigious school by using brilliant grade. Under this case, it likely students will be willing to cooperate with others to perform well. At that time, teacher walking around the classroom monitor students closely is more efficient than an honor code.

To sum up, it still needs more careful inference and consideration before all universities and colleges replacing teachers’ monitor with an honor code