Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

From above mentioned information, we can know that the two anthropologist don’t get the same conclusion after using two different approaches.

To begin with, Dr. Field using observation-centered method to study Tertian culture said children there were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. It’s likely that parent rather busy farming and tend not to pay more attention to their children. At that time, the futility rate is higher than now, so children often gather and play with other kids when parents didn’t have time to take care of them. However, what’s the number of sample that Dr. Field have surveyed?

The experiment was conducted 20 years ago, so it’s evident that the data he obtained isn’t valid anymore, especially regarding culture, which may shifted rapidly less than a year, let alone 2 decades. What’s more, Dr. Field only observed children were reared by whom, which is not enough to confirm the conclusion. What’s the background of those children? It’s possible that their parent had to go to other cities to raise the family. Rear can be divided into accompany and financial support. It’s little biased to say children in Tertia is reared by the entire village rather than their biological parents.

On the other hand, Dr. Karp also conducted the experiment after Dr. Field visited Tertia. Nevertheless, did he went to the same area with Dr. Field? Through the memo, we can just infer that the location is this group of islands. Is these islands exactly same with Dr. Field? If not, the data he collected may not be convincing even though he did thoroughly. He chose interview-centered to study the issue, but we’re not able to know what these questions are about? In addition, we don’t know what response did those children reply.

To sum up, it still leave many questions for them to answer before we want to decide which method or argument is more reasonable.