The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In this recommendation, the director suggests that employees require all of our employees to take the Easy Read Course. However, it leaves many questions to be answered before directly jumping to the conclusion.

He takes one graduate for an example that he was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours after the course. Nevertheless, what is the content of the report? Is it full of pictures and tables or it’s a high-school level term paper? Even though the report is a graduated essay level, we still have to ask does he fully comprehend and grasp the idea of the whole article. Otherwise, if he only scanned through the pages before claiming he read the report, this case can never be considered a solid proof of the core value of the course.

Another graduate was promoted from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in a year. However, what’s the construction and the size of the company? Nowadays, there are more and more small-sized startups popping up in the market, so it’s easy to shot from an employee to a high position such as vice president. On the other hand, even though the course do help boost the reading speed of two graduates. Is it possible that both of them are the special cases that they’re so intelligent that they can know the difficult tips in reading and make a good use of them as soon as possible? We’re afraid that most graduates cannot attain the same result after they spend the same time as them in the course.

He also recommends that all of the employees should require to take the course. Is the course worth everyone taking and useful as their position? Take a plumber for an example, it’s not really helpful for him to take the reading course compared with a training program for fixing. A course has to be taken by those who really in need like managers who have to save their time and know the whole concept and key points from the article.

Whether taking a course or not still needs to answer at least above-mentioned questions to evaluate the efficiency and the necessity.