1. The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter, it recommends that Consolidated Industries is a good investment, but it leaves some unsubstantiated assumptions.

Firstly, it assumes that the prediction from climate forecasters is right. However, the letter doesn’t mention the background of the forecasters. It’s likely that they’re college students who are interested in doing research in climate cycle, so the prediction may deviate from the reality. Even though they have sufficient knowledge to do the experiment and simulation, it’s still possible they don’t have enough funds to install the more advanced and accurate equipment.

Secondly, the assumption states that there’s no alternative ways or substitutes to satisfy the demand for heating oil. Nevertheless, it’s likely that people can wear more indoor and turn on the heater to raise the temperature. It’s also likely that some cheaper energy resource will be exploited. Therefore, it doesn’t perfectly imply the increased demand for heating oil even though the climate pattern turns out to follow the pattern as the climate forecasters predict.

Lastly, the assumption relies on the premise that the growing population would persist after the houses are being built. However, it’s likely that the growing will gradually stop or even start to decline, so the houses would become vacant. Hence, the existence of the houses may not equivalent to the demand for the heating oil. Last but not least, it assumes that investing in Consolidated Industries is a good choice. Nevertheless, the market is transparent for everyone, so it’s likely that other investment companies or other sensitive investors have also found the trend. Consequently, it stock prices of the company may have already risen by leaps and bounds. As a client decide to buy the stock, it’s possible that he or she may miss the best investing opportunities.

The author must address the above assumptions before jumping to the conclusion that Consolidated Industries is worth investing.