Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals often reveal something surprised us in that we have no access to knowing the detail of everything in the daily life. However, scandals usually fall into beneficial and futile. Just like lawyers, there are good and bad lawyers working in the court. In my opinion, most of the scandals are useful, but some of them cannot change anything unless we fully understand the whole process of the event, such as extramarital affairs about singers and actresses.

People nowadays are busy working and studying, and they spend time enjoying delicious food or playing cellphone or Switch with latest technology. Hence, it’s likely that they don’t have enough concentration focusing on the social issue until person involved in scandal is a well-known entertainers or politicians. Take Taiwanese actress, Ko-Chun-Dong, for example, the movie he was starred in went viral during the summer vacation many years ago, attracting lots of films to invite him and advertisers to endorse their products. Nevertheless, he was revealed that he took drug with his some friends in Bei-Jing. Through this event, every company refused to hire him anymore even cut off his part in the upcoming movie. Many fans of Ko were juvenile, and they were disappointed at his inadequate behavior. In this case, the scandal erupted not only educated teenagers not to use drugs but affect profoundly than teachers’ and parents’ warning.

Some may argue that scandals aren’t necessarily influential than speakers or reformers are. As we known, many governments all over the world are risk adverse, and they don’t tend to make such dramatic changes. The government in Taiwan is also rather conservative. From a long time ago, military court had been overridden over the ordinary court in Taiwan before the event of a soldier, called Hong- Chung-Chiu. Many people advocated abolishing the military court for several times for the society has changed dramatically and the military system sometimes isn’t transparent at all. However, once the soldier was dead because of their arbitrary penalty, the government rapidly legislated to settle the fierce argument. In this case, we can observe that scandal plays an important role in making impact on some issues.

On the other hand, it must exist some scandals that are helpless to the social issue, such as extramarital affairs. Sometimes, this kind of event may distract people’s attention, and it’s likely that we lose focus on more crucial events. Even though, we figure out why caused the model decided to divorce her husband, there’s no help to solve other thorny problems.