The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this application, developers listed many advantages to convince small business loan to accept their plan. At first glance, it looks reasonable that operating a jazz club in Monroe is a great opportunity to make profits. However, after analyzing each factor listed above, it’s not necessarily a wise choice to open a new pub.

To begin with, it provides a number that over 100,000 people attended well-known jazz music festival last summer, but it didn’t specify the type of activity. Did it require audience to buy a ticket, or free? It’s likely that people joining this concert accounts for high proportion among total citizens once we’re given how many people in Monroe. Still, it’s also likely that the festival held in summer vacation and it was free so parents were willing to bring children to participate in. Hence, only providing visited number of the certain activity isn’t persuading to prove jazz music is popular in this city.

On the other hand, it mentions that several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe. Nevertheless, we cannot know what the definition of well-known is, and what the actual number of several is? Even though there are indeed more jazz musicians living in Monroe, it’s not logical to say that it exists the positive correlation between the jazz music market and the number of musicians. It doesn’t represent famous singers would be reluctant to performance in club instead of holding their own concert to make more money.

Last but not least, it points out one of the radio program falling into jazz category is the highest-rated among all of the programs. It’s possible that the data is collected correctly, and it really attracts many people to listen to it. However, it’s not necessarily true to link the idea that the purposed music pub will flourish in the town with the club business. In addition, 7.pm every weeknight maybe is the sector most people drive back to home or commute. What makes the program attracting and high ranking is not only the quality of it but the time it airs.

To sum up, it still needs lots of evidence to ensure that the plan is lucrative, which makes the application more smooth at the same time.