The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe."A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz

This group of developers have seemingly found their gold mine. As their arguments suggest, the people of Monroe are true jazz fans. However, the reasons they provide would rather need deeper clarification in order to convince the loan granting organism that theirs is a profitable idea.

While there is no doubt the C-Note could be a great business, there is one unstated assumption that would undoubtedly raise a question among the people granting the loan: would the C-Note be the first jazz club in Monroe? There is one rule in economics that says "there is never money left over the table", meaning that profitable opportunities tend to be exploited as soon as they are available. In this case, the proposed business - which sounds magnific - is either a new possibility or something that would have been tried before (somehow not as successful as expected by the author of the passage).

Another assumption that could reinforce the argument if proven correctly is the popularity of jazz in Monroe. It is difficult to extrapolate the true tastes of people in Monroe from the figures of attendance to its annual jazz festival because those 100,000 people could have been tourists. Indeed, there are a lot of festivals that are designed for a public that is not local: for instance, DJ Guetto offers a concert each year in Cancun, Mexico, but his target audience are not local people but folks from Mexico and Guatemala Cities who enjoy his music and going to Cancun. Furthermore, the fact that 'Jazz Nightly' is the highest-rated radio program in Monroe does not automatically makes jazz a favorite of the people. What if Monroe has only one radio station? That makes 'Jazz Nightly' the only available program for people commuting from work to home; if this is not the case, the argument would be strengthen greatly if proof is provided.

The last and perhaps most important assumption is that the figures of a nationwide study can be used in assessing whether a local business can be successful. In order to strengthen this idea, it would be great to add a comparison of the local to the national income level: is Monroe rather a rich or a poor city, compared to the rest of the nation? This can be easily done, for example, with the data from the Labor Observatory, which publishes a quarterly report on salaries by metropolitan areas of the country.

Thus, as shown above, the argument can be greatly strenghten if the developers provide evidence that such a business has never been tried before in Monroe or that they understand why that previous try failed and how to avoid those poor results. Also, providing proofs that jazz is actually a favorite of the people of Monroe - not merely because of the amount of people who attended an annual festival or the relative popularity of a radio program. Finally, it would be great if the group provides some data on the macroeconomic situation of the city compared to the rest of the country, as they have already made some research on the consumption pattern of jazz fans.