The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

Is it possible for a nation to be great while providing opportunities unequally for its citizens? It depends on the definition of greatness. For all of antiquity, opportunities to thrive were given unequally among incumbents, which was the case of both city - states and larger empires, so it may have been the case in ancient cultures. But it is also important to see that, in today's world, people are more and more aware of their chances of success, which raises the question of what makes a nation great.

Considering the ancient world, it can be argued that societies of the likes of Greece and Roma provided great opportunities for its people to develop as artists, entrepreneurs, philosophers, and so forth. Both became the great powers of their times and their influences have echoes in our days - in modern western countries, law and language have been strongly influenced by greek and roman cultures. However the general welfare of the citizens of Roma and Greece was not as great as their influences may suggest. Indeed, slavery was official in those empires, allowing absolutely no social mobility for an important number of citizens (they were not even considered to be citizens). Was the Roman Empire considered a great nation back in the dawn of the current era? Perhaps it was to some, but it can be hard to assert that it was a great nation to those whose social status amounted to less than second class citizens.

If in the ancient world such great, influential powers did not undoubtedly clasify as great powers because of how they treated the many, the term "great" should be carefully studied when applied to today's societies. One instance of a country that may be considered great by the many is the United States. Taking a look at the figures of visa demands, it is possible to see that there is an ever increasing number of people trying to get into the US. Among many others, the reason behind this trend is that opportunities in that country are much more equally accessible than in others. For example, people can attend college in the US because, in spite of the high tuition fees, there are loans available to students. And security, which can be an issue in certain areas of the big cities, is by far a less concerning issue than it is elsewhere. In contrast, Mexico has much more great artists who perform at the top of their crafts (reggaeton singers, actors, or even poets) but the overall citizen would rather go to the US in pursue of a greater level of welfare.

As a conclusion, even though it can be argued that a nation is great because of the achievements of a privileged few, the best indication of a nation's greatness is, without doubts, the general welfare of its citizens. However, as was the case of the great powers of the ancient world, this depends on what makes a nation great. In today's society, this definition is closer to a high level of welfare (as seen in the case of equal access to opportunities) than to that nation's influence on the culture of others.