A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The assertion that all students, up to the age of 18, should study the same national curriculum is conspicuously erroneous. It is easy to undersand why. Let us take the cases of highly successful individuals: Merril Streep and Carlos Slim. As Ms Streep's resume points out, she began formally preparing for a career in theater when she attended high school, as theater was among the classes available to her - and counting toward completion of her formation. On the other hand, Mr Slim-Helu, the renown Mexican billionaire, is an engineer who attended high school at Mexico's oldest university. Back then he was given the opportunity to learn the fundamentals of telecommunications - which later became the source of his wealth, when he bought Mexican giant telecommunications enterprise, Telmex. Both Ms Streep and Mr Slim share a common trait: they were given the opportunity to get acquainted with their passion from an early stage in life.

It may be correctly argued that no story of success is uniquely dependent on what individuals do before young adulthood. After all, it is true that some of the most successful individuals did not began their careers in what later made them successful. One can consider the case of Adolf Hitler, whose early steps as a painter belie what he would become later on. It is, however, necessary that school formation provides an space for children and teenagers to learn what they are passionate about. In order to write a novel, it is necessary for students to first have been given the opportunity to compose a short story and, to that end, it is necessary that composition be among the pool of possible subjects; to swim faster than Ian Thorpe and Michael Phelps, a student should first be given the opportunity to, at least, play waterpolo once in her life.

Finally, while it is true that a minimum degree of standardization is required - studying physics and chemistry, for instance, is highly important today because of the relevance it bears in our day-to-day dealing with electronic devices - this should, by no means, be taken as an obligation to completely standardize study programs: it is one thing to study the fundamentals of physics and chemistry, sure, but it is completely another thing to master its more complex concepts. It is important that subjects such as Arts Appreciation, Physical Education, Theater, Musical Performance, and so on, be given the weight they should be given.