People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reas

Everything people do (when acting rationally), either as a country or at the individual level, can only be understood when put into the context of the society in which they live. But that is a broad statement. Within the notion of society, there are many factors that deserve consideration, and the immediate situation, we can call it "the environment", is by and large the most important. This is helpful in understanding the deeds of the great people - those who have shaped the way we see life.

Art is one instance that deserves study. It is virtually impossible to understand the great artistic manifestations that led to the most impressive changes in society if we do not consider the lives of the artists that carried on such revolutions. For example, Fridda Kahlo was the first Mexican feminist - at least in the modern definition of the concept - long before the Mexican Constitution considered women as equals to men. In her days, society in Mexico was not as open as was society in other places, such as France. But Kahlo was greatly influenced by what was happening around her, and unlike most Mexican women, who had no clue of the fight for equal rights going on in Europe, Kahlo was aware of it because she traveled a lot to Paris and Madrid.

Of course, there are other things within the notion of society that matter, beyond the immediate situation. The case of Donald Trump's presidency is a good example of the other parts of society (racism, in this case) going against the immediate state of affairs. It would have been unimaginable that a candidate with such a strong hate for Latinos and Muslims would gain the presidential race, back in 2008 when Barack Obama - the first non-white president - was first elected to office.

However, in the case of Donald Trump's election to office, it is important to understand that there were many voices expressing their views long before this paradoxical choice happened. The problem was that the progressist movement had gained momentum back in 2008, leaving those right-wing voices unheard by the noise they were making. When that momentum disappeared (probably due to the perception of poor results by the Obama administration among the incumbents), then it was the turn for the right-wing movement to seize control.

Therefore, among the many other factors determining people's attitudes within the notion of society, it is clear that the immediate situation (the zeitgeist) is by far the most revealing variable, even though there may be other factors to take into account because of how many, more often than not, tend to leave unheard the voices of the few.