"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men

The conclusion that only unmanned space flights are worthy of investment is poorly supported by a few assumptions, namely: that manned flights are more expensive than unmanned flights; that devices are, at least, as capable of gathering information in the space as humans are; and, as assumed by the conclusion itself, that a space flight has no research goals that require the presence of a human (for example, studying the human body in the outer space).

Manned space flight is costly is an assumption that needs comparison to a counterfactual. Is the cost of unmanned space flights lower? Of course, people onboard have to be well remunerated but the devices that substitute their place may, perhaps, be high enough to take into consideration. For instance, the last unsuccessful flight to the space, which was unmanned, resulted in a record lose of 850 million dollars mostly due to the enormous amount of robots that were piloting the flying machine. Arguably, a skilled human pilot would have performed better than a robot if presented with unauspicious conditions. Therefore, the substitution of humans is more than questionable if the reason for this change is the cost. It can be argued as well, on the other hand, that the cost could go beyond the 850 million had this been a manned flight.

Certainly it is desirable to avoid losing people in a space mission. However, is the "great deal" of information being gathered sufficient enough to justify the unmanned space probe? It is possible that machines do gather much more information than a group of astronauts prone to human errors, but it would be very useful to know if this machines are capable of recollecting as much detailed information as persons can. Just to cite one example, last month the National Aeronautics Journal published a study in which the authors were concerned with the lattest advancements in meteorite studies: not one paper has been published in 5 years that offers revealing information - which coincides with the substitution of humans for robots in space flights. Thus, if devices are not as capable as humans of providing new information, then to what extent are persons substitutable? In the end, a space probe will be a costly experience, but whether its mission is accomplished or not is a different story.

Finally, the conclusion, in and of itself, assumes that there is nothing more to space flight than to collect information. Perhaps the most desirable pieces of information are those allowing to study the outer space, but a space flight can as well be useful in studying other areas, such as physiology in the space. Sure, aeronautics is not a field entirely concerned with studying the human body, but the huge investment in space flights can as well be useful for researchers in other fields.