Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to add

Society evolves at an ever increasing rate since the first industrial revolution. Many issues that we, today, think of as problems were not even remotely considered thirty or fourty years ago. This is the case of the salary gap or the presence of women in top positions in industry and government agencies. That men and women are physically different is, undoubtedly, a true assertion - speaking on the basis of the average individual. However, it can be argued that such differences exist also within genders, which raises the question of whether gender should be the parameter of consideration in judging whether a man or a woman is suited for a certain task.

One of the most important things that a Society that seeks to provide individuals with equal opportunities is to analyze whether a group (i.e. a certain gender, race, or people of a certain faith) are under unequal access to these opportunities. When looking back in history, before all the conveniences that came (and keep coming) with technological advancement, it is possible to see that the weaker individuals (of which, normally, women) depended on the stronger for many vital tasks: hunting, shelter, protection from all kind of dangers. That gave the strongest a position of power over the others. But it is important to acknowledge the extent to which this power still holds. For instance, in corporate jobs, is it still the case that the physically stronger hold the top positions? Certainly not, even if most CEOs are men, this is a condition that prevails because of other factors and not because of women's poor ability to perform at the top of the corporate ladder. Thus, it is important to understand that many differences in the tasks performed by men and women are due to the fact that history gave - perhaps unfairly - unequal power to different groups.

But physical differences are also seen within genders, which makes it questionable whether the ability to perform many tasks is due to the gender or other characteristics. Nutrition, which is highly correlated to income levels, plays an important role in determining the physical strength of a person. As shown in the lattest FAO report, African Americans and African Caribbeans exhibit a higher level of nutrition compared to African Mexicans, who live in a high degree of marginalization. This analysis controls for income levels and reveals that African Caribbeans and African Americans are better suited for tasks that require physical strength, regardless of their gender. So, it is clear that gender alone is not a sufficient feature in assessing whether an individual is suited for some tasks.

In conclusion, gender differences cannot be neglected but are not as important as they used to be before technology made life easier. The strength of men (which is not ubiquitous, because it varies across income levels) is no longer a sufficient reason to support the gender gaps that can be seen today in the labor market, even more so in corporate jobs where physical attributes are not important in the performance of tasks. It is important that Society questions the validity of the physical differences between men and women in order to provide all of its individuals with equal opportunities.