The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the loan applicant claims that a jazz music club in Monroe, the C-Note would be profitable. To support this conclusion, the applicant points out that Monroe has no other jazz club. He also cites various other evidence that jazz is popular among Monroe residents. Scrutiny of this evidence, however, reveals that it lends little credible support to the claim.

First, the popularity of Monroe’s annual jazz festival and of its nightly jazz radio program also fails to justify his application. It is said that over 100,000 people attended the festival last summer, while we do not know it is consisted of how many local people and how many foreigners. Perhaps only 100 Monroe citizens joined such festival, which suggests a lack of interest among them in jazz music. Besides, the highest listening rate of jazz radio show may be due to its prime air-time. Even if the listeners are indeed fond of jazz music, the author provides no evidence that they would like to go out to hear live jazz. In fact, such program might pose competition for the C-Note, especially given that the program airs during the evening.

Nor does the mere fact that many well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe bolsters the assumption that jazz is extremely popular in the city. It is entirely possible that those musicians prefer Monroe to reside because of its pleasant weather or convenient public transportation. Or perhaps Monroe is a widely considered celebrity neighborhood like the Beverly Hills where gathers numerous stars, including jazz musicians. In short, without ruling out other possible reasons for this evidence, the author cannot convince me that jazz music is prevailing in Monroe.

Moreover, the nationwide study showing that the average jazz fan spends 1000 dollars each year on jazz entertainment is compelling only if it can apply equally to Monroe residents. Yet it might not be the case, since the economic condition of the city might be poorer compared to the nation, which prevents the jazz fans there to spend as much money as the study demonstrates. Thus, I remain suspicious about the argument until the author offer further information to substantiate his explanation.

Finally, even if Monroe citizens are fond of a jazz club, the author’s assurance of the lucrative prospect of it is baseless. Profit is a factor relating to not only revenue, but also cost. Maybe the cost of construction or other costs associated with decoration and promotion of a new jazz club will offset, even outweigh the revenue that it could yield. In addition, a myriad of other unexpected occurrences, such as unfavorable economic depression, might further prevent the proposed club from being as profitable as the applicant predicts.

In conclusion, the loan applicant’s argument is not persuasive. To bolster it, he must provide clear evidence that Monroe residents would patronize the C-Note and how the club can be profitable statistically. Such evidence might include the following: survey results showing that a significant number of Monroe residents would attend the club; economic feasibility analysis of setting up C-Note; and a future income prediction of it.