Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

It seems like a good idea that governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but being not able to afford the tuition. However, I don’t consider it might work well in the reality based on the following reasons, and I’d propose some alternative idea.

To begin with, once governments decide to provide students who cannot pay tuition, then the financial burden would be really heavy, since a student needs thousand dollars a year. Suppose that one-third of the students are financially backward, and it’s already been an enormous amount. However, tax they collected is paid by all the citizens who want to see taxation can improve their living quality or even secure their life by strong army. For example, they may be satisfied when they see the doctor without paying much or the government build the new bridge in order to solve the serious problem regarding traffic congestion.

On the other hand, government subsidy isn’t the only solution to this problem. For instance, there are more and more NGO initiating programs to ensure that students can finish their colleges. In addition, the power of alumni associations in most of the universities is incredibly strong. Every year, they have many plans being beneficial to schools, such as construct a new building, rebuild a library, and so on. It’s absolutely that it exists the application for fully supported tuition to those students whose financial situation is difficult. Hence, it’s not necessarily that governments should help all students enter into colleges.

However, some may argue that it may still has few students being talented aren’t able to study without money concern. Therefore, I think governments can allocate a little portion money to those students. It’s likely that funding a certain amount of applicants in different fields, such as art, science, and so on. They can make a regulation that after the students graduate, and they have to start their business or do the research in the nation so as not to lose the outstanding person.

To sum up, I think it’s reasonable that governments subsidize a portion of students in different field, but most of the students should get the subsidy from those institutions, like NGO, alumni association.