The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The memo written by the president of Humana University suggests that they can also to create and actively promote online degree programs like Omni in order to increase their total enrollment and solve the budget problems.

He mentions that the enrollment in online programs increased by 50% last year, indicating the efficiency of the course. What’s the actual enrolled number between two years? It’s likely that last year is 10 and this year is 15, and it’s not convincing to say that the increasing number is a good indication. What’s more, maybe the college had promoted the course by giving a discount, attracting some students to take it. Even though the online course is successful in Omni, it’s not necessarily that doing so will also promote without hitch. Does Humana have the same teachers mastering in the identical field compared with Omni? How’s the average ability of two colleges? If Humana designs and records the similar materials with Omni, once it’s too difficult to its students, it still has little students enrolling.

He says that Omni showed a significant decrease in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space owing to the online course. Nevertheless, how much is a little apartment off the campus and the dorm? It’s possible that students’ priority is saving money, so they would prefer the cheapest way. If the price of renting houses around the campus is cheaper than dorm, then it will be the first choice for them obviously. As a result, the correlation between the online course and cost of dormitory is not high.

He also points out that the cost of maintain buildings has increased along with its budget deficit. Still, what does the percentage of maintaining dorm account for the total expenses of every building? It’s likely that most of the money spent on gym, library and the offices, and little portions of budget is allocated to the dorm. In addition, it’s also possible that their annual performance has gotten worse, so the government withdraw parts of funds from Humana. In this situation, the core problem isn’t whether creating the online course but the finance and the policy.

To sum up, before starting to promote the online course, it had better considerate many problems carefully.