In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patro

The argument focuses on improving the highway safety at Prunty County. The decrease in speed limit from 55 miles per hour to 45 miles per hour has not proven effective in reducing the fatalities. Moreover, the drivers are breaking the law by exceeding the speed limit. To see better results, the argument suggests that following the same kind of road improvement project like the Butler County could see a reduction in the number of accidents. At the first glance, the argument seems pretty convincing but a careful scrutiny of the same sheds light on a plethora of flaws underlying the assumptions.

Firstly, the argument posits that imposing a restriction on the speed limit doesn't correspond to the decline in the number of accidents and reports by the highway patrol imply an additional problem, that is drivers are not abiding by the speed limit law. Probably, Prunty County hasn't enforced stringent laws concerning the speed limits due to which the people are ignorant about the consequences of violating the speed limit. If the laws were more strict and implied that surpassing 45 miles per hour would lead to cancellation of the driver's licence, probably the law would have been more effective and the accidents would have reduced.

Secondly, the argument doesn't take into consideration of factors causing the accidents. What if the accidents occurring on all county highways are due to the roads which aren't in a good state? What if the street lights on the roads are not functioning due to which more accidents are occurring during the night? Providing more evidence regarding the accidents and their causes would validate the accuracy of the argument.

Thirdly, the argument directly concludes to implement the project undertaken at Butler County. There is no proof that a road project taken up in one place can prove to be efficient and foolproof in another place. For the road improvement project to be effective in Prunty County, the argument should compare the road conditions and visibility at dangerous intersections at the two places. What if the number of accidents in Prunty County are due to rash drivers and not due to the roads? Will the road improvement project be effective in Prunty County? The only possible way to evaluate if this project will be effective is to compare the County's roads and highways and the number of cars.

Thus, before jumping to conclusions to take remedies to reduce the mishaps on road, one must evaluate the criteria mentioned above. The argument has a lot of inherent flaws and answering the above questions and providing more evidence will consolidate the argument even further.