According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic en

Recent reports assert that cheating among college students and university students is on the rise. At the first glance, the an honor code implemented by Groveton College seems very effective in reducing the number of cheating cases but a careful scrutiny of the argument sheds light on a plethora of flaws which test the validity of the argument.

Firstly, the honor code works as follows: a student agrees not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to report to their faculty member if they have witnessed any cheating. This is very controversial and there are multifarious factors which undermine this honor code. For example, what if the students agree to the terms but don't abide by it? It is human behavior to agree to follow a law but break the rules and regulations of it. Hence, there is no guarantee that by signing a honor code, every student will abide by the rules and not digress into unscrupulous ways.

Secondly, the argument posits that before the honor code was in place, the teachers closely monitored students. The number of cases reported during that time exceed the number of cases being reported since the honor code came into force/ Is the honor code truly responsible for the decrease? What if the teachers reported more accurately compared to the students? Probably, the teachers were very meticulous in their duties and carefully observed the ones who cheated and reported them. This might not be the case with students. They might take the sides of their friends and never report their names which can portray a biased nature of students.

Thirdly, the number of cases being reported by students has been declining. What if the students are being bullied when they go and report cases of copying? What if the students aren't being truthful? What if the cheating cases have actually increased but are going unreported? The argument would have to answer these questions which would be helpful to evaluate the recommendation if the honor code is helpful or not?

Additionally, the argument states that a majority of Groveton students agreed that they are less likely to cheat with an honor code in place. This statement doesn't prove that the students are being honest. Maybe, they want this honor code because cheating in exams has become an easier option than it was when teachers closely monitored the students.

Thus, in conclusion, the argument has many logical flaws and providing more information regarding those questions will be salutary to evaluate the argument. As of now, it is difficult to assess if the honor code has actually proved effective in reducing the number of cases or the reports of cheating is just a bogus number.