Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas wher

The author makes the argument seem very convincing at the first glance and by observing closely, we notice the assumptions the argument is based on. Will the business strategy of Nature's Way in Plainsville work out as planned or will it result in a complete fiasco?

Firstly, the predictions for the success of Nature's Way in Plainsville is based on the implicit assumption that the previous stores have been profitable in areas where people lead healthy lives. The flaw in this assumption is that the diet of the people hasn't been mentioned. What if the people in Plainsville prefer home-made healthy food rather than the preserved healthy food items available at the store? If this holds valid, then the prognostication made regarding the success might be wrong.

Secondly, the merchants of Plainsville have reported that the sales of the running shoes and exercise clothing have always been burgeoning in this area. This is another reason why Nature's Way feels that opening their store will be a good idea. This evidence weakens the argument because it portrays the idea that the people are fitness freaks. The dietary preferences aren't mentioned.

Thirdly, the local health club says that the aerobic classes and the weight training classes have been running at full capacity which implies people are inclined towards becoming fit. The people probably believe in the idea of exercising and burning calories instead of surviving on healthy food.

In addition to this, Nature's way hasn't taken it's competitors into account, that is, what if there are already many stores who promote healthy food and health related products? If this is true, people will trust the stores which are already burgeoning in their area since years over the newly established Nature's way store.

Finally, the argument mentions the possibility of children being their future customers because of the enforcement of programs like fitness-for-life propogating the idea about a regular exercise since a young age. The argument misses out on mentioning if children are actually fond of healthy food? These kids would probably prefer junk food over healthy food.

In conclusion, before predicting the success in this new town of Plainsville, a deeper study regarding the dietary habits of the people, a questionnaire regarding whether prefer healthy food would be helpful. Additional information like being abreast of the competition would be beneficial. These evidences, when added can further strengthen the argument without which the argument has a few flaws.