"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertisin

At the first glance, the argument seems pretty convincing in portraying that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. A careful scrutiny of the argument sheds light on a plethora of flaws which test the accuracy of the argument.

Firstly, the argument posits that the advertising firms whose employees sleep for less than 6 hours per night have witnessed higher profit margins and faster growth. This causal occurrence might be a coincidence. There might be many other reasons which can explain the profit margins or the success of the firms. For instance, the executives might have a huge workload on them and strict deadlines which they need to meet which inhibits them from sleeping from more than six hours per night. This implies that the employees are very diligent and to finish their workload, they make a trade-off to sleep less than 6 hours. Hence, if this assumption holds true, the success is directly proportional to the sedulous nature of their executives and not to their sleep-cycles.

Secondly, instead of directly jumping to the conclusion that if a business needs to prosper, it needs to hire those who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. This is a very bizarre idea because every person who needs less than 6 hours of sleep need not be well-suited for the job. This criteria could cost the firm and lead to decline rather than witnessing success. For example, if a person who is well-suited for the job and a person who sleeps for less than 6 hours and is completely unaware of the job are the candidates, it is a viable option to select the former rather than the latter candidate.

Thirdly, the argument states that for a business to prosper, sleep-cycle is of cardinal importance. To strengthen this point, the argument must have mentioned examples about how the association between less sleep and success is not a mere co-incidence and establish the fact that sleep is the only impetus behind the success of a firm. This would bolster the argument's conclusion effectively.

Thus, the argument is flawed and to validate the argument, a few evidences would have to be provided which either undermine the argument or reinforce the author's point of view.