"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give

The letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper states that the revenues spent on schools comes from taxes which are paid by the residents. Despite the fact that the number of residents in Parson City and Blue City are nearly equal, the residents in the former city pay twice the tax amount in comparison to the residents in the latter city. This leads to the conclusion that Parson City residents value good education in public schools whereas the residents of Blue City. A careful scrutiny of the argument sheds light on a few flaws in the argument.

Citing the overall tax revenues collected by the government, the argument doesn't mention how many residents attend school in both the cities. For instance, the reason behind the high taxes paid in Parson City could be attributed to a higher proportion of the population attending public schools. Probably, the number of students in Blue City is negligible which could explain the reason why these residents pay lesser taxes compared to Parson City residents. To strengthen the argument, the argument would need to provide a recent population census report which could help one evaluate what percentage of the population attend schools.

Secondary, the economic conditions of a city play an important role in determining the taxes paid by the residents of a city. The financial status of the residents, the cost of living, housing costs could be helpful evidences to explain the high taxes charged in Parson City. If the cost of living is substantially high in Parson City, this could explain the discrepancy as to why people in Parson City pay higher taxes. Do the people in Parson City pay the same amount of taxes as Blue City in other fields like housing? If every tax report indicates that Parson City residents spend more on taxes compared to the Blue City residents, then this undermines the conclusion that they value good education because they pay high taxes.

Thirdly, the argument concludes that Parson City residents place a higher value on providing good education in public schools because they pay a greater amount of tax revenues. It is preposterous to come to this conclusion without providing solid evidence. The argument could state facts like the comparison between the education provided in Parson City and Blue City. The quality of education in Blue City might be superior to the quality of teaching in Parson City. Additionally, statistics like number of graduates and students from Blue City who have surpassed students from Parson City academically would cast doubt on the argument.

Thus, evidences like why the taxes paid by the residents differ by a huge amount, the number of students in both the cities, the importance of education in both the cities would help one to evaluate the argument effectively. As of now, the argument is rife with flaws and a few evidences cited in the argument are elusive and untraceable.