Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Research and development is considered to be of paramount importance by every nation. The governments allocate a certain amount of funds specifically for the purpose of research and development because they believe that advancements in research is beneficial for the progress of a country. Placing restrictions in the field of research and development is crucial because it defines the boundaries one cannot surpass. I agree that governments should place a few restrictions on scientific research and development.

Firstly, scientific research could be deleterious to living beings or animals and if no actions are taken regarding this, the effects of this research could be detrimental to mankind. For instance, tremendous research is being carried out in the field of nuclear fusion. Debates about nuclear fusion by-products being the potential substitute for non-renewable energy sources is a common topic of contention in nuclear physics. While this research could come up with a salutary solution and reduce the usage of non-renewable resources, the nuclear fusion experiments release chemical substances like deuterium which can't be released in open environments. Hence, the government has placed restrictions that any discharge of products from nuclear experiments must be buried deep inside the ground.

We are familiar with the testing of drugs on animals before a pharmaceutical drug is released into the market. This testing is done on mice and this could have a drastic impact on the population of mice. These mice are used in clinical trials and this could lead to a potential decrease in it's population. It is necessary to circumscribe certain trials on mice or find alternatives to test the product on. Mice aren't the only victims and the population of frog is at a risk too. In biological labs, many people tend to perform dissection on the body of frogs to study the anatomy and this has endangered frogs. Recently, the government enforced many rules that forbid the use of frogs for dissection.

Additionally, the clinical trials or testing on mammals like dolphins have been banned by the governments. A few years ago, the testing of cosmetics happened on dolphins and many other animals like pigs. The governments took notice of this and have enforced strict rules of non-animal testing in many fields of research. Now, one might come across a lipstick and read it's cover which specifies that no testing has been carried out on live animals.

While research is of cardinal importance to the progress of a country, no restrictions need to be imposed unless it is predicted to cause detrimental effects to humanity or animals. Laws in the field of research should be flexible so that one can place restrictions easily when the need arises. Providing total freedom in the field of research and development is not healthy.