The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

The interdependence between the society and it's compatriots is a symbiotic relationship, that is the existence of the society is meaningless without it's citizens and vice versa. Existence of people in a society doesn't suffice but their involvement in the activities aiming at the well-being of the society matters. The claim presented above is credible to a certain extent.

Firstly, it is very important that an individual doesn't condone the wrongdoings of the society and must question it's authority. Silently watching the evils manifested in a society is tantamount to an ignorant citizen. For example, in India, everyone habitually complain that the roads aren't kept clean and garbage is ubiquitous. When people talk about issues to each other, the problem is never going to disappear. When the same people question the municipalities responsible for the garbage collection, necessary actions can be taken to ameliorate the situation.

Secondly, the authority working for the welfare of the society might be the people we cast our votes for. Indirectly, this means that we have brought them to power. Hence, instead of questioning the authority, we must also be cognizant of the candidates we vote for. After voting for the wrong candidate, if people question the authority for doing a mediocre job, the citizens are the ones to be blamed and not the authority.

Thirdly, an individual's voice might seem petty in front of the society. Will the voices of a myriad number of individuals be heard? To be certain that when we question the authority, the society takes that into consideration, the means of communicating the problems matters. Social media platforms, news channels, blogs can reach out to masses in a few milliseconds and when the issue is communicated to the masses, the society has no other go but to look into the problems and work for the well-being of the society.

Although, there might be a few critics who assert that in this world of corruption, no matter how many people question it's authority, the society will never look into the problems and find a solution. This might be credible to a certain extent but generalizing this would be wrong. Weighing the pros and cons, it can be concluded that the well being of a society is enhanced when many of it's people question authority.