To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate.

The argument quotes the memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham college. At the first glance, the argument seems pretty convincing and doesn't look flawed. The deeper readings of the argument shows that the argument consists of numerous flaws.

It is mentioned that the enrollment at Buckingham college is growing and based on these current trends, assumptions are made that over the next 50 years, this enrollment will double. Deciding the enrollments over the next 50 years is a huge statistics to keep in mind before deciding on it based on the current situation. If the argument had provided some evidence that the college has reached a higher ranking and is amongst the popular colleges in the country, the reason for the enrollment increase can be justified. Usually, a college's rank keeps fluctuating which might be reflected in the number of enrollments. Hence, to increase the dormitory space based on the statistics provided by he current trends and predicting the future is not a good idea.

It is said that the off-campus housing is difficult to afford considering the fact that the rents for the apartment in the town are high. To overcome these difficulties and to be student-friendly, the argument suggests off-campus housing. The evidence which would strengthen the argument would be the rental prices of the apartment and the financial conditions of the students studying at Buckingham college. What if most of the students studying at Buckingham college are day scholars? If this holds true, despite the increase in enrollments, the number of students using the dormitories declines. A statistics determining what percentage of the enrollments constitute day scholars would be helpful.

Last but not the least, there is a slight hint explicitly suggesting that 'attractive dormitories' might be the reason for increase in enrollments. This weakens the argument because it implies that the students who are choosing Buckingham college are focusing on their stay rather than the quality of education provided. Also, another issue can be if the number of dormitories increase and the students living in dormitories decrease, the rental cost per student might turn out more expensive than the off-campus housing because an increase in dormitories means more housing staff and so on.

Hence, if the argument makes use of more stronger evidence, the loopholes in the argument won't exist.