Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The author of this claim asserts that once in five years, those in power in fields like business, politics, education and government should step down. The reason states that to be successful in any enterprise, new leadership is beneficial because it helps in revitalization. I disagree with the claim and believe that to be successful in any endeavor, new leadership doesn't play a cardinal role as suggested by the claim. Although, new leadership is salutary, it isn't a necessity.

Admittedly, the role a leader plays is of crucial importance. However, this doesn't imply that a new leader is necessary to ensure success. For instance, quoting an example of Barack Obama, he served as the President of the United States for two terms. Despite the fact that he didn't step down after five years, there were no incidents of failure. Indeed, America has progressed and has witnessed it's heyday too during his presidential term. This example contradicts the claim that leadership doesn't have to keep changing roles to witness success in any field.

Secondly, there are a plethora of factors contributing to the success of an enterprise. Leadership skills of the leader, his approach to solve problems or to deal with crisis, his goals and missions during his term are a few factors which contribute to success. Rather than assuming that new leadership assures success, one must assess other criteria which could be helpful to determine if the new leader in position would perform better than his predecessor or would perform terrible. For example, the Prime Minister of India, Modi enforced the demonetization in India which was helpful to reduce the number of corruption cases in India. The question stands if a new leader in India can stand up to the standards of Modi or will a new leadership fail in this case.

Thirdly, in fields like business and dealing with government, experience does matter a lot. Hence, if a leader has been effective in his performance last term and has shown considerable success during his tenure, then new leadership won't be necessary. Although, one may suggest that with a new candidate, new opinions and new methodologies step in which could help the enterprise reach it's acme but if a leader has proved efficient in his previous tenure, there is no need for him to step down after five years. Probably, the company can be successful even with the same leader continuing.

Thus, it is very bizarre to directly conclude that new leadership is the surest path to success. The reason quoted above is flawed. To assess if a new leader will be beneficial or will be deleterious, one should assess the progress witnessed in that field during that leader's term. If a leader has produced mediocre results, new leadership would be a viable option. Otherwise, the same leader could be in power and continue to produce great results.