"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indica

The argument seems pretty convincing in positing the fact the customers are either unable to distinguish between butter and margarine or use the two terms interchangeably. However, there can be one or more alternative explanations which could contradict the proposed explanation in the argument.

Firstly, the argument is missing out on facts like whether butter and margarine have similar tastes or looks. If this is valid, then this could explain why an average 98 out of 100 people aren't complaining about the change. Probably, they have less knowledge in food and hence, are inept at distinguishing between the two. The replacement of butter with margarine could still produce the same culinary taste in food. Maybe, the customers at Happy Pancake restaurants are satisfied as long as the food tastes the same irrespective of the ingredients which constitute the recipe.Additionally, the argument also posits that when a number of customers ask for butter and are given margarine instead, they have no complaints which means that butter and margarine are imperceptibly similar.

Secondly, the calorific details of butter and margarine are unknown. Suppose, butter has more calories than margarine, people could be opting for a more health-conscious diet. This could explain why people aren't complaining and are actually happy with the change. This could also explicate the fact that the 2 percent of the customers who were unhappy about this change could be the customers who don't prefer a healthy diet. The validity of this assumption could undermine the proposed explanation of the argument.

Thirdly, the argument mentions that since the customers are happy, the reasons could be attributed to either not being able to distinguish or using the two terms as synonyms for each other. This explanation is a little bizarre. Before jumping to conclusions, the preferences of customers who visit Happy pancake restaurants would give a clear picture. What if the customers are able to distinguish between the two but since the taste hasn't change, they aren't complaining? What if taste if of cardinal importance to it's majority of customers rather than the ingredients? If this holds true, this would belie the explanation provided by the argument.

Thus, in contrast to the conclusion drawn which says that the customers haven't noticed the changes or refer to the two terms butter and margarine in the same context, there could be potential flaws behind the explanation drawn above and providing a few more evidences as suggested above could prove beneficial.