True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and su

The speaker claims that setting goals and achieving success goes hand in hand. Success can't be measured as such but considering the goals a person had in mind can help us in evaluating one's success.

Firstly, when a person is more planned in his endeavor, the probability of completing the task is higher. Every person, including the CEO of Google to a layperson tries setting his visions and goals before setting out for a mission. For example, every company has a group of employees called project managers whose job is to set a timeline mentioning the deadlines for every task. These deadlines are tantamount to setting goals when we want to accomplish a task. The companies with such planned timeline of tasks have records of performing very well and achieving success.

Admittedly, it might seem that setting out goals might limit our imagination and confine us to stick to our goals and not digress from it but this isn't true. However, this approach turns to be more efficient and helps us to stick to our plan and avoids deviating from our mission. For instance, a student wants to finish his project within 10 days. Which would be a viable option? An approach with no deadlines set or a planned out schedule? Definitely, the former approach could lead to a lot of confusion like not knowing how to proceed if there are discrepancies in the project. While the latter approach might not be foolproof, it can help a student be more prepared and doesn't lead to a lot of last minute pending work.

Finally, when a person sets a goal and achieves his/her goal, it makes him/her more motivated to proceed further. It gives more confidence knowing everything has been scheduled and leads to an organised execution of things. It is true that one can achieve success without planning, for example, Einstein didn't have any goals set to conclude the fact about gravity. Despite this fact, an organised approach is always a better approach in comparison to the success with no goals set aside.