The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

The assertion that an irrefutable indicator of a great nation is not represented by the achievements of it's rulers, artists or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people, is certainly debatable. Some might argue that the welfare of the citizens is indeed the best indicator of a great nation regardless of its achievements in various domains. On the contrary, others might argue that the achievements of a nation's rulers, artists or scientists should be kept in mind before terming one as a great nation. I agree with the claim that the criteria for evaluating a nation depends on the welfare of its people rather than achievements.

Firstly, the accomplishments of the rulers in history are an incarnation of what an ideal society or nation looks like. Do the accomplishments alone suffice the characters of a great nation? Indeed, many other criteria must be taken into consideration in order to evaluate the characteristics of a great nation. For instance, Mahatma Gandhi succeeded in achieving independence for India by preaching non-violence. Suppose, the people in India are witnessing sever cases of non-violence, then this accomplishment is a complete fiasco.

Secondly, artists compose poems, ballads and prose reflecting what their idea or expectations of a great nation are. If an artist conveys his stand on women empowerment through his poetry, he could be lauded for his success. Several cases of female harassment in that nation sheds light on the actual reality. Despite several approbations for the artist's work, the reality contradicts the achievement of a nation.

Scientists are involved in the research and development of a nation and their successes have lead to the economic progress of a nation. However, many works of the scientists have proved detrimental to the general welfare of people. For instance, research in the field of chemical industries have led to the release of polluting carcinogens which cause cancer. Despite significant breakthroughs in science, if the welfare of people is at risk, then these achievements are a debacle.

Thus, in conclusion, although the achievements help us to evaluate the progress of a nation, they are not a reality check on the situations prevalent in the society. If a nation is carrying out a bad job in ensuring the welfare of people, this could be a huge downfall.