Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

Anthropology deals with the study of human cultures, society and development and such a study was conducted by Dr.Field and Dr.Karp. However, their approaches applied to study the Tertian culture are different. A few other anthropologists have suggested that more accurate information can be obtained from the interview-centered method rather than a observation-centered methodology.

Firstly, observation-centered approach might seem more salutary because observations help us capture the minute details which can't be captured by interviewing a person. For instance, what if a few children are reserved and aren't comfortable in an interview? In such cases, the interview-based approach might give us erroneous results. It has also been proven in various studies that the human eye tends to look at the smallest details which goes unnoticed at other times. When observation can prove to be so helpful, the observation-centered approach might not produce completely bogus results. Answering the question if the children are social or not would strengthen the argument that interview-based approach is superior to the results obtained by Dr.Field's approach.

Secondly, Dr.Field conducted his studies in Tertia whereas Dr.Karp visited a group of islands which included Tertia. Providing more evidence like how did the children in Tertia respond to the interviews would consolidate the accuracy of the argument. To strengthen Dr.Karp's results, the argument would need to mention the responses of the children of Tertia. If their responses proved that they spoke about the other adults in the village rather than their biological parents, then Dr.Field's observations would be valid. Mentioning about the interview answers specifically pertaining to the children in Tertia would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Thirdly, the argument doesn't posit what are the questions asked in the interview based approach. Giving an insight about the questions asked would help us to analyse why the children spoke more about their biological parents. What if the responses of the children were that their parents don't spend enough time with them ? What if the answers had a negative tone to them? When the children talk about their biological parents, it doesn't imply that they mentioned that they were reared by them. Hence, the interview based approach would need to give examples of the responses to get rid of the blemishes in the argument. Answering these questions would help us to appraise the argument.

Thus, the argument has a few flaws and to get a better recommendation as to which method to follow to understand Tertian child-rearing practices, a few questions need to be answered .