Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The author makes a claim saying that financial support in major cities will result in the preservation and generation of cultural traditions. The author is naive in his thinking. His focus is on the major cities' improvement, completely keeping the other cities out of the picture. I disagree with the claim putforth by the author. Does the economic and infrastructural development of a country rest only on the progress of major cities? Well, the answer is a stern no.

Regarding a country's economic and financial conditions, we can say that minor cities, which include the rural areas are in a desparate need of financial support. For instance, in India, the trend is as follows: the richer cities get richer whereas the cities manifested with poverty become more impecunious. The logic behind this situation is the belief the governments hold that investing more money in major cities is crucial. This notion in the eyes of the government will never take us close to the development of a country.

Quoting the reason, it says that financial support in major cities will be a better option as a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated. Going back to our roots of history and culture, we can attribute the birth of our cultural traditions to the rural areas. For example, the culture of 'Janapada', which is story telling through songs in India was born in the rural areas. Urban areas might have skyscrapers but the cultural traditions and customs trace back their origin to the villages. Hence, this reason mentioned in the argument is not valid and is inherently flawed.

Furthermore, the villages or the minor cities are in need of monetary support. Investing in the urban areas will definitely result in the burgeoning of urban areas but what about the progress of the country? Indeed, the overall progress of the country which is dependent on the major cities as well as the minor cities is at a stagnant stage. The government's notion to provide pecuniary support to the major cities to help them flourish might be a short-term vision for the development of a country. The long-term vision would be providing financial support to all the cities to see the country flourish. Indeed, that is a victory.

Definitely, investing in major cities can help a country to thrive because they are the 'hubs' of the country. Major cities are the home for IT professionals or academic universities. On the contrast, minor cities have rich cultural heritage still intact unlike the whitewash of the cultural traditions in the technology manifested major cities. Investing financially on minor cities and preserving the heritage sites will result in a large number of tourists, leading to the higher per capita income of a nation.

Therefore, the government, who has the power to improve the conditions of a nation financially and economically should not parochially think that only the major cities should thrive. Secondly, the reason stated does not strengthen the claim and is filled with loopholes as mentioned above.