"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the numb

The proposal made by the Central Plaza Shop owners to prohibit skateboarding without actually providing any solid evidence is a bizarre plan. Before implementing the proposal or even considering it , the Central Plaza must answer a few questions which will give a clearer picture of the situation.

Firstly, the shop owners in the Central Plaza might have increased their sales taxes which might be the reason in the rapid decline of shoppers. For example, goods which had a sales tax of 8 percent might be available at a higher price the people can't afford at. Another reason which could substantiate the waning of customers is the quality of goods. Probably, the Central Plaza has an old collection of stocks and is not on par with the current trends of the market.

Secondly, the presence of litter and vandalism might be the cause for the deterioration in the number of customers. The workers involved in the cleanliness department and the security guards aren't executing their duties. When the Plaza was pristine and free of vandalism, the shoppers felt safe and now, they are probably hesitant to step into the same place.

Thirdly, there is no direct relationship established in the argument regarding the increase in the number of skateboarders and decrease in the number of shoppers. A new skateboarding arena might have opened at the Plaza. The opening of this arena and the decline have no relation.

Furthermore, there might have been cases of recession due to which people have cut down on their expenses. This weakens the claim that there is a direct relationship between the waxing skateboarders and the waning customers. If the argument provided more evidence on the above mentioned facts, it would be void of loop holes. As of now, unless these questions have found answers, it is completely absurd to correlate the two.